How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia | KitaabNow
Sale!

How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia

 410
  • Author: Mohsin Hamid
  • ISBN: 9781594486685
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Limited
  • Publication Date: March 5, 2013
  • Format: Paperback – 240 pages
  • Language: English


Share
Description

A sharp, fresh satire for the ruthless modern world – for fans of Dave Eggers, Ben Lerner and Gary Shtenygart

‘Mohsin Hamid is one of the best writers in the world, period. Only a master could have written this propulsive tale of a striver living on the knife’s edge, a noir Horatio Alger story for our frenetic, violent times’ Ben Fountain

This book is a self-help book. Its objective, as it says on the cover, is to show you how to get filthy rich in rising Asia. And to do that it has to find you, huddled, shivering, on the packed earth under your mother’s cot one cold, dewy morning. Your anguish is the anguish of a boy whose chocolate has been thrown away, whose remote controls are out of batteries, whose scooter is busted, whose new sneakers have been stolen. This is all the more remarkable since you’ve never in your life seen any of these things…

‘Even more intriguing, compelling and moving than The Reluctant Fundamentalist. A marvellous book’ Philip Pullman

‘Brilliantly structured, deeply felt [and] written with the confidence and bravura of a man born to write. Hamid is at the peak of his considerable powers here, and delivers a tightly paced, preternaturally wise book about a thoroughly likable, thoroughly troubled striver in the messiest, most chaotic ring of global economy. Completely unforgettable’ Dave Eggers, author of The Circle

Author Biography

Mohsin Hamid is the author of four novels — Moth Smoke, The Reluctant Fundamentalist, How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, and Exit West — and a book of essays, Discontent and Its Civilizations.

His writing has been translated into forty languages, featured on bestseller lists, and adapted for the cinema.

Born in Lahore, he has spent about half his life there and much of the rest in London, New York, and California.

Additional information
Weight0.250 kg
Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Menu
Categories
*Data Not Found